secjnr.blogg.se

Download trail run 10k
Download trail run 10k




download trail run 10k

This would be my first marathon that I didn't have my wife by my side, something neither of us would have chosen as a first option. As our 2017 calendar filled out and the days drew near however, my younger son found himself with baseball games filling up the weekend and so it was decided that everyone else would stay home. Initially I had made allowance for my family to travel with me if plans would work out. I made plans to camp the night before at the Lower Falls and got a reservation for a camp site close to where my family had camped in 2016. Its one of the luxuries of a small trail race: availability is not a concern and haste is not an issue. I registered a few months ahead of time and found that even nearing the race date it seemed registration stayed open. As my 2016 running season ended I decided on this being my marathon of choice for 2017. It offers the ability to run alongside the shores of Lake Superior, follow the North Country Trail and end up at Tahquamenon Falls, thus linking together some of the scenic highlights of the U.P. Instead, I was drawn to the Two Hearted Trail Run. Though this race isn't offered anymore, the thought of running in that beautiful terrain was so very tempting. I believe the first race that had caught my attention was the Porcupine Mountains Marathon. They run a number of interesting events in northern Michigan and Wisconsin. Aside from the well known mosquitos and black flies, the trip and the hiking were outstanding.Īs I've research new trail races to try over the past couple of years I was frequently drawn to Great Lakes Endurance. We made stays and hikes at Tahquamenon Falls, Pictured Rocks, the Porcupine Mountains and even Isle Royale. My family and I did a road trip from one side of the U.P. My real introduction to the fullness of the U.P. Though I had been up to Houghton, Michigan, as an older child I never recalled much of the visit. Trip Report: One cannot overstate the beauty of the Upper Peninsula of Michigan and Lake Superior.






Download trail run 10k